Means for redemption…

Ruth 4:6-10   “And the close relative said, ‘I cannot redeem it for myself, lest I ruin my own inheritance. You redeem my right of redemption for yourself, for I cannot redeem it.’ Now this was the custom in former times in Israel concerning redeeming and exchanging, to confirm anything: one man took off his sandal and gave it to the other, and this was a confirmation in Israel. Therefore the close relative said to Boaz, ‘Buy if for yourself.’ So he took off his sandal. And Boaz said to the elders and all the people, ‘You are witnesses this day that I have bought all that was Elimelech’s, and all that was Chilion’s and Mahlon’s, from the hand of Naomi. Morever, Ruth the Moabitess, the widow of Mahlon, I have acquired as my wife, to perpetuate the name of the dead through his inheritance, that the name of the dead may not be cut off from among his brethren and from his position at the gate. You are witnesses this day.'”

Chapter 4 focuses almost entirely on what Boaz does to redeem Ruth for himself. He even goes so far as to buy extra property just so she can fully belong to him. It reminds me of Matthew 13:44-46:

“Again, the kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and hid; and for joy over it he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field. Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant seeking beautiful pearls, who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he ahd and bought it.”

This is such a perfect picture of Christ to me. He didn’t need me in order to have honor – He alone is worthy of all honor and glory and praise. He didn’t need to redeemt he whole world either – it all belonged to Him anyways. I couldn’t offer Him anything for compensation – I literally had nothing to bring, nothing but my own fallen self and dead spirit. He took one long, penetrating look at these things, then He walked to the top of Mt. Calvary and ransomed His life to have mine, signing the deed in blood. There was no sensible reason why He wold do this except He loved me and wanted me. So He gave up everything that rightfully belonged to Him and paid it out to ensure that I would belong to Him forever. now, there is nothing I could possibly do to leave this position or make myself irredeemable. “Hallelujah! What a Savior!”

Leave a Reply

