Hope for the Future…

Ruth 3:11-13   ” ‘And now, my daughter, do not fear. I will do for you all that you request, for all the people of my town know that you are a virtuous woman. Now it is true that I am a close relative; however, there is a relative closer than I. Stay this night, and in the morning it shall be that if he will perform the duty of a close relative for you – good; let him do it. But if he does not want to perform the duty for you, then I will perform the duty for you, as the LORD lives! Lie down until morning.'”

Jehovah-Jireh provides hope for the future. I wonder what Ruth felt like when Boaz answered her request for redemption with, “my daughter, do not fear. I will do for you all that you request.” Rather, I should ask the question, what is my response when GOD answers my prayers this way? His promise to work all things together for my intrinsic good according to His perfect plan to accomplish the very best for me should nourish that fire of hope inside of me. It’s when I forget this promise or fail to believe what the Lord says that I come away still feeling confused, anxious, or antsy. But I don’t have to. If I’ll only stay at His feet and wait for His purpose to be accomplished, like Ruth did that night at the threshing floor, then I’ll see that fresh light of dawn and look at the future with a new, brighter perspective.

Leave a Reply

