Meeting my need…

Ruth 2:14-17, 21; 3:15-17   “Now Boaz said to her at mealtime, ‘Come here, and eat of the bread, and dip your piece of bread in the vinegar.’ So she sat beside the reapers, and he passed parched grain to her; and she ate and was satisfied, and kept some back. And when she rose up to glean, Boaz commanded his young men, saying, ‘Let her glean even among the sheaves, and do not reproach her. Also, let grain from the bundles fall purposely for her; leave it that she may glean, and do not rebuke her.’ So she gleaned in the field until evening, and beat out what she had gleaned, and it was about an ephah of barley. … Ruth the Moabitess said, ‘He also said to me, “You shall stay close by my young men until they have finished all my harvest.”‘

“Also he said, ‘Bring the shawl that is on you and hold it.’ And when she held it, he measured six ephahs of barley, and laid it on her. Then she went into the city. When she came to her mother-in-law, she said, ‘Is this you, my daughter?’ Then she told her all that the man had done for her. And she said, ‘These six ephahs of barley he gave me; for he said to me, “Do not go empty-handed to your mother-in-law.”‘”

Jehovah-Jireh provides satisfaction for my immediate and future needs. This I continue to struggle with. It just seems so beyond my mental grasp to ask GOD for 1,000s of dollars or miraculous healings or the end to bitter fighting. How do you ask in faith for something you have no hope for? Knowing GOD is able to do it and believing that He will are two different things. And yet at this very hour I am begging GOD to provide $8,000 worth of payments and services for me and my family. I have great hope to return to Bible College this February. I have great hope that my family will get to keep our house. Both deadlines are coming up quickly. The question is, am I allowing the deadlines to define my faith, or the One in whom my faith rests? But the enemy is sly and out to hurt us – he aims to shoot down our hope and damage our faith by introducing temptations to doubt, discouragement, and other fiery darts. Be on guard against these! Recognize them for the spiritual attack they are!

The Lord gave me a revelation concerning this facet of His character:

Kids who live in low income families or on the poverty level understand the greatness of the need present and the significance of those requests being answered when they ask their parents for something. At the same time, kids in wealthy or well-off families have a personal example of the immense resources available through their parents and the readiness/willingness with which they give. My life has been the former, but GOD wants me to understand the latter as well. One thing that I can always draw on to remember is the life-long testimony GOD has given me and my family of His willinghess, His readiness, His ability, and His follow-through. Even needs and desires that were never formed into words, or that may hae been relinquished years ago are not beyond His heart to answer. Just as Boaz instructed the reapers and later filled Ruth’s shawl, so GOD has satisfied my needs in the little, unperceived instances of daily life and in the immense outpourings when I least expected it.

One more Note:

Where was Ruth when she received the provision from GOD? In the field, working HARD all day. At the threshing floor, fully prepared and ready to follow Boaz’s directions. GOD never blessed Ruth for sitting in Naomi’s house, expecting a big fat check arrive in the mail. Ruth did the last thing GOD had directed her to do, and that was to take care of Naomi. Going gleaning was an opportunity the Lord placed in front of Ruth to meet that need. More often than you think, the next thing you need is met by the next thing God puts in front of you. Like now: I need an income – I have a second interview for a job today. My immediate need and my immediate opportunity go hand in hand. How about you? Are you waiting on a paycheck, a partner, a parent, a plan? or are you waiting on the Lord and stepping forward in faith when He provides an answer?

Leave a Reply

