Encouragement while you wait!

Ruth 2:11-13 “And Boaz answered and said to her, ‘It has been fully reported to me, all that you have done for your mother-in-law since the death of your husband, and how you have left your father and your mother and the land of your birth, and have come to a people whom you did not know before. The LORD repay your work, and a full reward be given you by the LORD God of Israel, under whose wings you have come for refuge.’ Then she said, ‘Let me find favor in your sight, my lord; for you have comforted me, and have spoken kindly to your maidservant, though I am not like one of your maidservants.'”

Jehovah-Jireh provides encouragement while I’m ministering (and waiting). This very thing happened to Ruth when Boaz took the time to come and speak with her and to bless her for her heart to serve. Many times while helping with children’s worship at my church, parents approach me and offer a complementary word of encouragment, sharing how they have been blessed by my work. Like Ruth, I’m at a loss to know how to answer this. She and I were just doing our work because someone else needed it, and our hearts were right because we sought to please GOD. I don’t think it ever crossed Ruth’s mind to go gleanings so she could make connections or find a husband! It happens like this because those times of complete surrender and single-vision on the Lord are the moments when Christ shines through us uninhibited. That other people comment is recognition of this happening. When we are privileged to hear how they are blessed, we can receive it gratefully and turn it into praise for the faithful work of GOD in our lives. But don’t turn it away or criticize what they are complimenting! What would have happened to Ruth if she had carelessly turned aside the words Boaz shared with her?

Leave a Reply

