Faith and Conviction…

Ruth 1:9-18, especially v. 14-18 “Then they lifted up their voices and wept again; and Orpah kissed her mother-in-law, but Ruth clung to her. And she said, ‘Look, your sister-in-law has gone back to her people and her gods; return after your sister-in-law.’ But Ruth said:

‘Entreat me not to leave you, or to turn back from following after you; for wherever you go, I will go; and wherever you lodge, I will lodge; your people shall be my people, and your God, my God. Where you die, I will die, and there will I be buried. The LORD do so to me, and more also, if anything but death parts you and me.’

When she saw that she was determined to go with her, she stopped speaking to her.”

Jehovah-Jireh provides the faith and conviction to stay the course. Ruth didn’t know what was in store for her if she continued on with Naomi. But she believed so strongly in the GOD who was leading Naomi that she determined to remain on that course, even if it eventually led to her death. As Hebrews 11:1 puts it, “Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Faith is like driving hairpin turns on a narrow mountain road: you can never really see past the next bend, but so long as you trust the driver you have nothing to fear. Although Ruth couldn’t foresee her future, she kept her eyes on the ONE who not only saw but also held her future, and in doing so she kept an eternal perspective. I won’t lie; it’s not my natural response to put everything in GOD’s hands and trust Him implicitly when facing the future without a clue. But GOD’s Spirit is the One who gives spiritual gifts, and one of those includes a spirit of faith that does trust completely (I Cor. 12:7-9). I think this gift is so powerful because it is fed by that peace which passes understanding (Phil. 4:7). When I think of who I was without Christ and what would have become of me on my own, it makes my spirit cling to Him all the more. This is one of those areas where I need to continue growing, that I might learn how to surrender everything into His hands and step out into a life lived by faith.

One thought on “Faith and Conviction…

  1. chrisdavis says:

    How wonderful to read your thoughts! You are one of those “called ones”. You brought tears to my eyes. Would you consider filling out the “About” page on your blog so people can see who is doing the writing? The world is blessed to have you in it…CHRIS DAVIS

Leave a Reply

